Riptide

June 29, 2017 at 6:00 pm (Reads) (, , , )

riptideRiptide by Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child

—–

I first heard about the legend of Oak Island when I was nine or ten, and it’s been a low-level obsession since then, enough that I’m honestly surprised when I discover people who haven’t heard of it. It has pirates! Treasure! Booby-traps! And it’s been around for over 200 years! How have people not heard about it?

Riptide is a fictionalized account of that legend, and this isn’t my first time reading the book. That would have been fourteen years ago, during a vacation at the beach. To say I loved the book is an understatement; combining the legend with being at the beach and tearing through the book in a day or two meant I loved the book. Preston and Child did a great job of translating the story into a ripping read, so when I needed an audiobook for a long road trip, Riptide was at the top of the list.

Of course, combining a re-read with an audiobook means I’m more likely to see the foibles of the story, like the paper-thin characters, the overuse of adverbs, and the story telling more than showing. There are also the technical elements of the story that I questioned (does earth really slow radiation like the authors claim? Would a doctor really not be able to identify radiation poisoning based on so much evidence?), but I still enjoyed the hell out of the story. My affection for the legend of Oak Island apparently knows no bounds (I’m also watching The Curse of Oak Island on the History Channel, though I’m behind on it).

Look: If you haven’t heard of the legend of Oak Island, you should research it. There’s a good article located here, though you could run a Google search on “Oak Island money pit” and find a ton of other resources. If that kind of story intrigues you, you should read Riptide. It’s not a perfect work, but it’s damn good, despite its issues.

Leave a Reply

