Jedi Apprentice: The Hidden Past

December 15, 2016 at 6:00 pm (Reads) (, , )

pastJedi Apprentice: The Hidden Past by Jude Watson

—–

I had to take a break from this series when I discovered that the used copy I bought was missing several pages. It took me a while to track down a replacement, and while I waited, I jumped into the Myth Adventures series. Now, I’m waiting to get the rest of those, so I decided to jump back and catch up with Obi-Wan and Qui-Gon’s adventures.

In this adventure, the two Jedi are on their way to the planet Gala to assist with its first election, but they’re hijacked to Phindar, where they are asked to help the native people with a corruption that is starving their people and leaving them mind-wiped. It turns out that the events on Phindar are closely related to those on Gala, so the Jedi and his apprentice decide to stay to help them with their problem.

The Phindians, Guerra and Paxxi, were a lot of fun to read. Their dialogue style was unique and humorous, almost like Jar Jar Binks, though without the condescension and annoyance of that character. Watson continues to write simply and directly without sacrificing her story, and it’s promising to see how each volume ties together into a larger story. The next book in the series is about Gala, the planet they were en route to at the start, so I wonder if Xanatos will make another appearance later in the series.

These books have a reputation among adult readers as well as juvenile readers, and it’s easy to see why. I’m glad I decided to go back and include the juvenile books in my Star Wars reading project. Let’s see if I’m still able to say that when I get to the Galaxy of Fear books.

Leave a Reply

