Myth-nomers and Im-pervections

December 5, 2016 at 6:00 pm (Reads) (, , , , )

nomersMyth-nomers and Im-pervections by Robert Asprin

—–

The One About Perv

When I decided I wanted to re-read these books, I tracked most of them down through used bookstores. In my haste, I grabbed what I could find, not paying attention to whether or not they were the editions with the Phil Foglio illustrations. The first time I read this book, I read that edition, and I found myself missing them during my re-read.

With this book, we go back to Skeeve’s point of view, as he travels alone to Perv to ask Aahz to come back to the company. Perv is based on New York City, or Chicago, or any other large metropolitan area around the world, and it gives Asprin a chance to explore the modern world while still staying entrenched in his Myth Adventure style. I thought it was well done, especially in how he handled some of the themes in the novel.

All of the books have had some passages where Asprin focuses on one theme or another, and they help make the books be more than just funny fantasy books. Myth-nomers takes that a step further, looking at the culture of big cities and how they affect individuals. From examining the police force to addressing the divide between the wealthy and the poor, the book has a lot to say, more than the other books in the series. As such, I think this is my favorite of the books in the series. That it comes so much later in the series is surprising to me, since I expected them to start falling off by this point.

This was the first book in the series that stood apart from my nostalgia and was able to stand on its own merits. Here’s hoping that the rest of the books in the series are able to do the same (though I have two more M.Y.T.H. Inc. books to finish, so I’m not holding my breath).

Leave a Reply

