Fables

February 12, 2013 at 9:47 am (Reads) (, , )

Cubs in ToylandCubs in Toyland, Werewolves of the Heartland, and Fairest: Wide Awake by Bill Willingham, et al.

—–

Ah, yes.  More Fables.  Earlier this year, I wound up with a lot of time on a Sunday afternoon before I was to meet up with some friends, and I found myself in a Barnes & Noble with three new Fables collections in hand, so I curled up in one of their cushy chairs and got to it.  I mean, hey, everyone else sitting in the chairs was reading something that they weren’t buying, and I made sure that I didn’t crack and spines or wear out any pages.

Werewolves of the HeartlandAnyway, I made my way through the latest collection in the ongoing series, Cubs in Toyland, and was pleased to see that Willingham is still working the series for all it’s worth without drying it out in the meantime.  The title arc was surprising in its brutality and change, and it reminded me somewhat of Tender Morsels.  I can’t say why without giving anything away, and I’d hate to spoil anything for folks who haven’t read the collection yet.  Needless to say, though, folks who have stuck with the series this far won’t be disappointed.

Werewolves of the Heartland is a standalone story set in the Fables universe, and Bigby Wolf is the star of the story.  He’s searching for a new Fabletown, and stumbles across a town called Storytown (a real place), and what he finds there is a community of werewolves.  There’s a convoluted backstory to explain why the werewolves are there, and there’s a whole lot of wolf penis to contend with.  In fact, there’s a good bit of material here for the furries, so keep that in mind before you read it.  I didn’t think this was a necessary story, and it’s certainly one that fans can skip over without missing anything, but who am I kidding?  Fans are going to read it.  We’re sheep.

Wide AwakeFairest is the newest series featuring the world of Fables, and this time it centers on the princesses.  In Wide Awake, we follow a thief who tries to rouse two sleeping beauties, and contends with a garrulous fairy who just gets annoying after a while.  I remember little bits and pieces of the story, but I’ve already forgotten the details of the overall story.  I thought the volume was pretty weak.  I think the world of Fables is getting diluted with these other series, especially when the main series is already using the better ideas.  This volume was written by Willingham, but it looks like the later volumes will be written by other people.  But really, I don’t expect to read any more of it, so who’s writing it is irrelevant.

So, I’m caught up with the latest Fables stories, and haven’t really changed my mind about it yet.  It’s still intriguing and compelling, and it’s still showing that there’s some life left in all these characters.  I can’t really ask for more, can I?

1 Comment

  1. The Unwritten: Tommy Taylor and the Ship That Sank Twice | Veni Vidi Verkisto said,

    […] typical marketing thing to have established series tell a new story outside the normal continuity (Werewolves of the Heartland is one of two in the world of Fables), but where those stories are less a part of the standard […]

Leave a Reply

